Left Navigation

Who Can File a Prohibited Personnel Practices Complaint?

OSC has jurisdiction over prohibited personnel practices committed against most employees, applicants for employment, and former federal employees in executive branch agencies and the Government Printing Office. However, there are so​​me agencies over which OSC does not have authority, or has limited authority. If you are an employee of any of the following, OSC cannot obtain corrective action on your behalf:

  1. Private sector employer

  2. Federal contractor (even if federally funded)

  3. State or local government employer (even if federally funded)

  4. Legislative or judicial branch of federal government

  5. Any branch of the (uniformed) military

  6. Commissioned Corps of National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

  7. Commissioned Corps of the Public Health Service

  8. Non-appropriated fund entity

  9. National Guard, Air Reserve Technicians, and Army Reserve Technicians; except personnel whose civilian positions have been converted to Title 5​

  10. Veterans Canteen Service

  11. Postal Regulatory Commission

  12. Government Accountability Office

  13. Certain intelligence agencies: Central Intelligence Agency, Defense Intelligence Agency, National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency, National Security Agency, Office of the Director of National Intelligence, National Reconnaissance Office

  14. Federal Bureau of Investigation

  15. United States Postal Service, except cases alleging nepotism or arbitrary and capricious withholding under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA)​

  16. Government corporations, except cases of retaliation ((b)(8) or (b)(9))

  17. Federal Aviation Administration, except cases of retaliation ((b)(8) or (b)(9))

  18. Transportation Security Administration, except cases of discrimination ((b)(1)) and retaliation ((b)(8) or (b)(9))​